Welcome To The
Saints' Roost Museum



Established in 1878

Saints’ Roost Museum in Clarendon is housed in the former Adair Hospital, which was built in 1910 by JA Ranch cofounder and local philanthropist, Cornelia Adair, for use by the JA cowboys and their families.

The museum’s unusual name is derived from the city of Clarendon having been established as a prohibition community by Methodist clergyman, L.H. Carhart. In contrast to typical boom towns of that era, Clarendon, as a “sobriety settlement”, was nicknamed Saints’ Roost by local cowboys.

Exhibits feature relics of pioneer life from Panhandle ranches, farms, and businesses, as well as Native American artifacts and a collection of materials from the Red River War. That same famed pioneer spirit is captured in exhibits remembering namesake Cornelia Adair, her husband John Adair, legendary cattleman Charles Goodnight, the historic JA Ranch and its cowboys, and noted Western artist Harold D. Bugbee, one of Clarendon’s most famous sons. The museum is also home to the restored 1887 Ft. Worth & Denver City Railroad Depot.

For nearly 40 years, the Museum has been the caretaker of this historic building and has used it to preserve the unique heritage and artifacts of Donley County and of the Texas Panhandle.




Posted By: Amy Thornberry
Updated: 10/29/2023
12:00 AM
Camp Cookie from Germantown, Tennessee, takes home top honors as the overall champion of the 29th Annual Col. Charles Goodnight Chuck Wagon Cook Off September 23, 2023, at the Saints' Roost Museum. . . . Read More of This Article

Posted By: Jon Michael Jones
Updated: 7/31/2020
10:43 AM
Saints’ Roost Museum is continuing the development of plans for its “Wheels of History” Transportation Complex. The complex will house: a 1906 Bain Chuck Wagon, restored and donated by Johnny Brumley; a 1923-24 Model T donated by Dr. Keith C. Hudson; a buggy purchased b . . . Read More of This Article

Copyright 2024 Saints' Roost Museum